part 26: (sabreen)

**”Bismillahir rahmaanir raheem”
-in the name of Allah, The Most Gracious, The Most Merciful-**

“Just think of it sam… Freedom… That would mean freedom at last…!” Beth chirped with excitement..

She couldn’t stop thinking about the endless opportunities she would have if sabreen was finally out of her life.

“Its a bad idea!” Said sam pacing up and down the room after beth had told him about hilda and mikes suggestion.

“What!?” Beth looked like she was smacked in the face. “How can you say its a bad idea? Isn’t it what we’ve always wanted? And atleast we won’t feel that guilty because, well, we didn’t kill her or anything.. She’ll have her freedom and so will we.”

“I just don’t trust your sister. She has some other ideas. She has ulterior motives.I think she’s out to get us… She never did like you or me before.” Sam said holding his chin and pondering deeply.

“Sam! Listen to yourself. For goodness sake sam.. You spend too much of time infront of that television… Too many movies I tell you…” Beth shook her head disapprovingly.

In the meantime sabreen confided in alice about her weekend.

“it was amazing alice. I wasn’t afraid and aunt hilda and uncle mikey were really nice to me..” Sabreen gloated

Alice smiled at her little sister. “I’m so glad that you experienced that breeni.. You’re a great kid and someday you’ll realise that you’re not as bad as mama and dad make you to be.”

Sabreen looked down with a sad look on her face…

“What is it breeni?” Alice said lifting her sisters face up with a finger on her chin. “Did I say something to upset you?”

Sabreen shook her head. “No. You didn’t…” She said without meeting her sisters gaze but still held that same sad look on her face.

“Then what is it? Tell me what’s bothering you?” Alice pleaded

Sabreen sighed.. “I have something to confess…”

Alice didn’t say anything and waited for sabreen to continue instead.

“Well.. I wasn’t a very good child alice. On saturday night while you were asleep, I was restless and heard some noises coming from downstairs in aunt hildas house. So I got out of bed and I kind of eaves dropped on mama and aunt hildas conversation.” Sabreen confessed

Alice laughed.. “That’s it breeni? I’ve eaves dropped over a million times on conversations. Its wrong, but its not the end of the world.” Alice ruffled sabreens hair.

Sabreen took alices hand in hers. “Alice.. Aunt hilda told mama that she and uncle mike want me to live with them… Forever!”

“What?!” Alice gasped

“Shhh!” Sabreen put her finger to her lips and looked towards their bedroom door afraid that beth was lurking somewhere nearby and was now eaves dropping on their conversation.

“What did you just say?” Alice asked again, this time in a whisper.

Sabreen just nodded her head. “You heard right sis!”

Alice hugged sabreen. “That will be great breeni.. I mean, I love you with all my heart and I’ll miss you like crazy around here. But remember how I always tell you that you’re going to find your happiness and freedom oneday?”

Sabreen nodded with an excited smile..

“Well I think this might be it.. You have no idea how it hurts me to see how they treat you in this house and you really don’t deserve it. You deserve much better.” Alice said.

“But they only hurt me because I’m bad alice. What if aunt hilda and uncle mikey also find out how bad I am.?” Sabreen asked concerned.

Alice took her sister by both her shoulders and looked at her in the eye.. ” You are NOT bad okay? They just tell you that so that they don’t feel bad for what they do to you. Its called ‘mind games’.”

“Don’t you see? Its hell living in this house. For any of us.. Tony couldn’t take it anymore and that’s why he moved out and I really want to study next year and if I get accepted at college, then I want to move out too.. And I’ll be worried sick about you everyday if you’re still here…” Alice told sabreen

“But nothings confirmed, mama didn’t agree to anything yet…” Sabreen said.

“Well we’ll just hope and pray that they agree..” Alice suggested.

Alice and sabreen hugged, turned in the opposite directions and went to sleep. As soon as sabreen fell asleep, she found herself dreaming of a better life. She dreamt about the yellow helicopter flying above her head. She dreamt about the little indian boy that joined her in the rain who’s mother didn’t even scold him and she dreamt of a genuine smile plastered permanently over her face.

*****************
Authors note:
Jumu’ah mubarak everyone. Hope u have a fabulous day and remember me and my family in your special duas.

Posted by silent living…

4 thoughts on “part 26: (sabreen)”

    1. Awwww…jx so much.. 🙂
      I try to post everyday… Even weekends.. Just my posts on weekends are sumtyms delayed because of being busy with family commitments… But I do post on saturdays and sundays usually… 🙂

      Like

  1. Slmz jus cawt up wid all da posts luvly story keep it up. Was so sad wen ur last blog ended but dis 1 covers up.t.c request for duas

    Like

Leave a Reply

